Invite

What establishes a connection that speaks and feels that of love, regardless of attitudes and differences of what one does? Why does communication not always work well, if both can speak freely, what is there to dwell? I accept you to be, what is true for you. There is no need for conflict of who is better than whom.

Communications purpose is to share and to extent. Why then have you taken what I have said, and turned it into the worlds end? Why are you receptive sometimes, but other times you seem cold? What has changed our relationship to make it appear weary and old? For nothing has changed, not that I can see. We respect each other’s beliefs, and we were happy to agree to disagree. But today you are different and you seem unkind, you retort with anger and arrogance of I.

Wait, did I ask your permission before I did decide that I should speak? Did I watch you closely to see if you were comfortable with me? Or did I continue to talk, when I knew you were not willing me to go on, and did I force my way into your mind, so as to demand you understand where I was coming from? I thought we were learning from each other’s way. I thought we were combining our knowledge with our individual faith. Now I feel bad for I see I was blind, I thought I was sharing whilst not hearing your sighs. You have not changed, it was me that forcefully charged on, and I did not see that it was you, I infringed on.

To convey forcefully is not to convey at all, for that is dictatorship where there is only one way to rule. But my friend you are my equal, and it is your choice to invite me in, and instead I chose to continue talking when you were no longer listening. Even peace comes of hate, when force is removed, to show all as equal and that they can each willingly choose.

I now see the difference in what creates meaningful exchange; I know I must be invited in first, if I am to stay. Rather than to talk at you and expect you to hear, I realise I must be patient, and when you are ready, the invite will be clear. And so next time I begin to address you; I will first recognize the sign, to check if you are willingly inviting me inside. I will watch how your eyes flicker, and the way you use your hands, as your body language will tell me what your words cannot withstand. Then, when you and I are both willing, there will be no aggression, or an argument to win, for here we will embrace the others feelings, and their personal opinions.

Communication is the sharing of knowledge, and that of love. But this can only be extended, if both participants consent to what the conversation does. Otherwise our words will fail to convey, anything other than what they actually do attempt say. Next time you demand another’s attention, first look into their eyes, does their body convey ‘come in’ or is it saying ‘goodbye’?

Hello friend, is that a sign that you have invited me in? Yes I am ready, now shall we begin?

Nadia F

